In 1986, educational organizations united to create the MASB-SEG Property/Casualty Pool. At the time, many commercial insurers refused to write coverage for Michigan school districts and the limited coverage that was available was overpriced and not affordable. Fearing uninsured losses, school administrators put their trust in the Michigan Association of School Boards (MASB) and SET SEG to serve as a collaborative financial manager to create and administer funds from a shared pool. 


The MASB-SEG Property/Casualty Pool is governed by a board of directors comprised of school district and education association leaders from across the state. Members elect representatives to the Pool’s board annually. The board is responsible for overseeing the investment strategy, coverage enhancements, and philosophy of the Pool. 

Board Members

John Kment
Superintendent, Roseville Community Schools

Vice President
Lisa Hagel
Superintendent, Genesee ISD

David Martell
Executive Director, Mich. School Business Officials
Ron Caniff 
Superintendent, Kent ISD

Dedrick Martin
Superintendent, St. Johns Public Schools 

Joseph Powers
Superintendent, Crawford AuSable School District

Daniel Reattoir
Superintendent, Eastern Upper Peninsula ISD

Don Wotruba
Executive Director, Mich. Assn. of School Boards