History & Governance

The SEG Self-Insurer Workers’ Compensation Fund was created in 1977, when many commercial insurance carriers viewed the public school market as high risk and unprofitable. The purpose of the Fund was, and still is, focusing on the needs of Michigan public schools and ensuring they have access to comprehensive workers’ compensation with steady rates.

The Fund is comprised and governed by a board of trustees known as educational leaders from across the state. Board members are elected by Fund members and serve three year terms. The board is responsible for establishing the Fund’s investment policy in accordance with state regulations in addition to other oversight duties.

Board Members

jan Amsterburg
Jan Amsterburg
Superintendent, Gratiot-Isabella RESD
jeffery mills
Jeff Mills
Superintendent, Van Buren ISD
Jason Jeffrey
Superintendent, West Shore Educational Service District
thomas martin
Tom Martin
Superintendent, West Ottawa Public Schools
angie mcarthur
Angie McArthur
Superintendent, Eastern Upper Peninsula ISD
Sheryl Presler
Superintendent, Clare-Gladwin RESD
steve prissel
Steve Prissel
Superintendent, McBain Rural Agricultural School
Dave Tebo
Dave Tebo
Superintendent, Hamilton Community Schools
don watruba
Don Wotruba
Executive Director, Michigan Association of School Boards